The Education Forum

E-Mail Lists for Teachers

Elise Chilcott

I am in my first year at university studying a bachelor of education, focusing at this time on becoming an early childhood teacher.

At university we have been set an assignment which involves signing up to e-mail lists, unfortunately as yet I am still looking for a list which I can use to complete my assignment.

It is one thing signing up to email lists, it is another altogether making good use of them. You really need to be selective, and carefully choose list(s) that are pertinent to what you want to get out of them. Someone once said that the problem with teaching was there is not enough information; now, with the internet, the problem is often there is too much! It is easy to get inundated with emails and information that distracts you from what you are trying to do!

It is great to be able to share problems (challenges!) - and experiences - with like minded colleagues, and that is one of the beauties of online forums and email lists; you can share things, or ask questions that you might not want to ask your supervisor, etc for fear of feeling stupid. And of course if you cannot find a list that focuses on what you want, then start your own.

It is one thing signing up to email lists, it is another altogether making good use of them. You really need to be selective, and carefully choose list(s) that are pertinent to what you want to get out of them. Someone once said that the problem with teaching was there is not enough information; now, with the internet, the problem is often there is too much! It is easy to get inundated with emails and information that distracts you from what you are trying to do!

This is very good advice. Personally I am reluctant to join email lists. I much prefer to ask and answer questions via forums. Maybe your tutor should have set you to task of joining a forum?

I would also recommend usenet

uk.education.teachers

uk.education.teachers.trainee

or

aus.education