The Education Forum

First World War Panel

John Simkin

I have been a history teacher (students aged 11 to 18) for 25 years. I first became interested in the First World War when I discovered that my grandfather had been killed on the Western Front in 1916.

I was involved in the design of the computer program Attack on the Somme and wrote the book Contemporary Accounts of the First World War. I am also the author of the website Encyclopaedia of the First World War:

http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/FWW.htm

Floyd Low reporting for duty on the WW1 forum!

I am a History graduate from University of Victoria in British COlumbia Canada. Currently I work as a full time reserve Army Captain in Ottawa Ontario and have an interest in WW1. My home area in British Columbia sent a Battalion to the Somme and most other Western Front areas. It was the 54th Canadian Infantry Battalion, part of the 11th Canadian Infantry Brigade of the 4th Canadian Divison.

The website is at http://apollon_2.tripod.com

I am also interested in the 102nd Battalion of the 11th Brigade see http://www.donlowconcrete.com/102.

I am currently involved in a project to map the travels of the 54th Bn on the Western Front and may well do the entire 11th Brigade using maps from the Trenchmap CD of the Imperial War Museum and the IGN French National Mapping service.

These battalions comprised many Brits who had came over to Canada in 1912 - 1914 and then went back to the UK for training. Many never returned from France.

My contribution? I can assist with Canadian facts and figures and I also offer a small paid service on personnel file tracing. See the 54th Bn website.