The Education Forum

Second World War Panel

John Simkin

I have been a history teacher (students aged 11 to 18) for 25 years. I am the author of the book Adolf Hitler (1987) and the website Encyclopaedia of the Second World War;

http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/2WW.htm

So far there are sections on: Background to the War; Nazi Germany, Chronology of the War, Political Leaders, European Diplomacy, Major Offensives, British Military Leaders, USA Military Leaders, German Military Leaders, Japanese Military Leaders, The Armed Forces, The Air War, The Resistance, Scientists & Inventors, War at Sea, Resistance in Nazi Germany, The Holocaust, War Artists, Weapons and New Technology.

I was born in Clapton, London on 11th March, 1920.

In 1940 I was called up to join the British Army for military training. The following year I was sent to Egypt to take part in the Desert War. I was at Tobruk and El Alamein where I was wounded in the arm and was hospitalized in Alexandria.

I returned to duty and took part in Operation Lightfoot and Operation Supercharge. I was also involved in the capture of Tunisia in on 11th May, 1943 and fought in Italy in 1944. I left the army in August 1945.

I was born in London on 5th June, 1926 and was thirteen years old when the Second World War broke out. During the Blitz I only attended school on Monday mornings in order to collect books and homework and this was returned to the school on Friday mornings (air raids permitting).

I started work in 1940 and later joined the Voluntary Nursing Service and nursed at Whipps Cross Hospital in the evenings and at weekends.

During the war I worked at the Rego factory making officer's uniforms. After my factory was hit by a V2 Rocket I was forced to work for a light bulb factory.

I was born in London on 29 July 1914. I married John Simkin, a porter at Billingsgate Fish Market on 26 August 1939 at West Hackney Church, Stoke Newington.