The Education Forum

E-HELP Team

John Simkin

I have been a history teacher since 1977. In 1979 I was a founder member of the Tressell Publishing Cooperative and in 1984 established Spartacus Educational. Since 1997 I have run the Spartacus Educational website. I have also produced electronic and online resources for a wide range of different organisations including the Guardian (Learn), the Daily Telegraph (Electronic Telegraph), British Library, Historical Association and Becta. I was also a founder member of the Association of Teacher Websites and an early member of the European Virtual School.

http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/

http://www.byteachers.org.uk

http://vs.eun.org/eun.org2/eun/en/index_vs.cfm

I am Head of History Department in a Secondary School in Alcorcón, near Madrid. I am mainly interested in history teaching on the internet and I have set up my own web site http://www.historiasiglo20.org/ which is focused on 20th century history. I am a member of Virtual School and I have been collaborating in different European projects (Comenius, Spring Day in Europe).

I taught history in an inner-city secondary school in Manchester for about 20 years before moving into history teacher education in the early 1990s. Throughout this period I have been interested in the use of new technology in history teaching and it was the subject of my doctoral thesis, tracing the development of ICT in school history over the past 30 years. The main bit of my current job is training history graduates to be secondary history teachers, but I also undertake research into the use of ICT in history. I was Co-editor (together with Christine Counsell) of History, ICT and Learning (London, RoutledgeFalmer 2003), a collection of chapters from several leading UK practitioners in the field of history and ICT, and have a (modest) website at:

http://www.uea.ac.uk/~m242/