The Education Forum

Nazi Germany Panel

John Simkin

I have been a history teacher (students aged 11 to 18) for 25 years. I am the author of the book Adolf Hitler (1987) and the website Germany: 1900-45.

http://www.spartacus.schoolnet.co.uk/Germany.htm

An organic project, so far there are sections on the First World War (82), German Art (18), German Scientists (26), Weimar Republic (16), Political Parties (8), Political Leaders : 1900-1930 (42), Foreign Policy: 1930-40 (12), Military Leaders (42), Nazi Germany (34), Nazi Political Leaders (74), German Resistance to Nazism (52), Holocaust (46).

I have been a history teacher for fifteen years and an examiner for GCSE and A level for six years.

My web site HISTORY GCSE is a site designed to help students prepare for their examinations. One of the main features of the site is a large section on Weimar and Nazi Germany.

I have been the Head of the History Department of Hvitfeldtska Gymnasiet in Gothenburg, Sweden, the last 6 years. Before that I tought History at a few High Schools, Colleges and Universities. My specific interest and knowledge are the Spansih Civil War (where I have done some work on the Swedish reaction and Swedish volunteers), 19th and early 20th Century Russian History and the Nordic Countries (especially Finland and Sweden) during the 19th and early 20th Century. I also have some knowledge about Germany during the same periods and the coming of World War One and World War Two.

With a BA in history and politics and MA in political philosophy, I have been a history teacher since 1993. I am currently Head of Humanities at the International School of Toulouse in France and I was previously Head of Politics at Olchfa School in Swansea, south Wales.

I teach IGCSE History and IB History and consequently have a current 'expertise' in modern history.

• 1 month later...