The Education Forum

Biography: Chuck Korr

Chuck Korr

I grew up in Philadelphia and Los Angeles and attended the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) for all three degrees. My Ph.D, in 1969, was in English history and the topic of my dissertation was the foreign policy of Oliver Cromwell. In 1966-67, I was a research student at the University of London’s Institute of Historical Research. During that year, I was lucky enough to be a student of S. T. Bindoff (the author of Tudor England) and Robert Latham ( the editor of the definitive edition of The Diary of Samuel Pepys). They not only trained me as a historian, they also allowed me to develop a deep appreciation for England and to have a very special feeling about London. Since 1970, I have been able to return to London almost once a year and I think of it as a second home. Something that I learned to appreciate during the first year was that football was more than a game to people .

I grew up as a sports fan – playing basketball and I’m still a Phillies baseball fan even though we left Philadelphia in 1953. I have been interested for decades in the connection between sports and American social life and politics. . My father had taken me to see the first game played in Philadelphia by Jackie Robinson, the man who broke the color barrier in major league baseball. In the turmoil of the 1960’s it was clear that a boxer, Muhammed Ali, played an important role and two sprinters, Tommie Smith and John Carlos had become the symbols of the efforts to end racism in this country.