The Education Forum

Hiram Huesca

Hiram Huesca

"I was born in Habana, Cuba and became a refugee, in Miami, in 1961, under a U.S. visa waiver program facilitated by the private Inter-American Affairs Commission headed by Wendell Rollason.

I graduated, from USF , with a Master of Science degree in physics.
I have been a teacher all my life and a scientist for a short stint with NASA's SETI project.

I am currently concluding my career as a teacher of mathematics, in Los Angeles, and my loves include Cold War events and realia of the period, Medieval social history, Women’s Studies, cosmology, cooking, and a vicarious, if somewhat pathetic, enjoyment of my nexus ( in Forrest Gump style ? ) with people and jumbled happenings that have long passed into shoddy history books."

Wow - SETI! That must have been fun, to some degree. So the question: is there some type of life out 'there'? How much significance do you place on the discovery of water on Mars?

Cheers and welcome!

• 2 weeks later...

Hello Mr. Burton,

I'm sorry I took so long to reply. I just looked in here now.

SETI was great, while it lasted. A New Democrat Congress Critter decided to make a name for himself by killing our project after we had endured numerous flip-flops on this, the most economical way to search for alien technology, by many orders of magnitude.

Eventually, SETI went private, with the generous donations by Barney Oliver, Steve Balmer, Steven Spielburg, and many others. By that time I had found employment elsewhere.

We did state-of-the-art research and development in signal processing and detection of unimaginably weak signals buried in enormous levels of radio noise; natural and man-made. My location was at Moffet Field ( civilian side ) home of the late P3 Orion planes that patrolled our coast line to monitor ships that spied on our Silicon Valley electronics industry.