The Education Forum

Grassy Knoll shooter

Tom Little

I have been reading through the Douglass book "JFK and the Unspeakable". It strikes me as a Catholic apologetic, the writer was a graduate of theology at a Jesuit school; I also have a degree from one. He makes JFK look like he was suffering greatly against the CIA and its huge appetite for militarism and intrigue. Much of that is true, but he wasn't a martyr.

Something that keeps coming up in my thinking are trying to see the assassination plans so they make sense, and so the different versions are credible. James Files says he was alone behind the fence, other versions like that of that of Gordon Arnold and the deaf mute Ed Hoffman describe pairs of men. How do we reconcile these and other versions?

The GK is a deep subject within itself too.  I'm no expert. 

Jim Marrs interviewed Files looking for the truth.  While I didn't follow his website extensively I think he just quit posting about Files over time.  I took this to mean he found fault in his story, as others have.  I wondered at one point and still do if the patron of Files story, the Dane, Wm Dankbarr though supposedly independently wealthy might have been influenced or funded by a modern day Operation Mockingbird. 

Some have speculated the grassy knoll shooter was a Dallas cop, Tippitt or Roscoe White.  See Badgeman.

Others think it was a Cuban still angry over the Bay of Pigs trained in Operation 40, maybe allowed to do it by the CIA.

Or one sent/working on behalf of Castro.

Then there's the French/Corsican Souetre/Mertz possibility from Harvey/Dulles/Angleton Italian connections all the way back to WWII.

Total reconciliation may be impossible because of destruction of files and death of witnesses and participants.

But somebody shot from front right.  Back and to the left still does not lie to common sense.

"pair's" is the key to me.  A shooter and a spotter/protector/radioman?