The Education Forum

Correcting Micah

Micah has now made that David Lifton quote about Garrison, from Lifton's mildewed  "Open CIty" attack article, his signature line.

To go into the whole background of this dispute, would be much too long, and prolix, for a post.

But in the interest of the long lost Fairness Doctrine, and equal time, let me quote Garrison himself on this issue,  Something that too few people on this forum will do:

"As a district attorney, I accept the verdict of the jury.  However, to misconstrue this verdict as an acquittal of the federal government in its involvement in the assassination of the President and in its suppression of the evidence would be a serious mistake."  Jim Garrison, A Heritage of Stone, p. 19

In reality, Garrison indicted Shaw for perjury and was ready to go trial, and he was not going to make the same mistake he did the first time by not calling enough witnesses.

If everything had been declassified, Shaw would have been convicted on about six counts.  Therefore, what was his testimony worth?  It  surprises me that supposedly intelligent and informed people, after all the ARRB declassifications about New Orleans, would still quote Lifton from 1968 on Jim Garrison. For objective purposes,  you might as well quote Epstein or Hoch.

Edited by James DiEugenio

i did not notice it until of late.

I wish I hadn't.

Lifton meant it one way and that was the way Hoch quoted him in his lapsed unlamented Echoes of Conspiracy  journal

Edited by James DiEugenio

I have further sourced this, and its from LIfton's Open City article in 1968, the beginning of his open warfare with Garrison.

Hoch then recycled it for his attack on Oliver Stone's JFK.

Two nice sources there on Garrison.

• 6 months later...
On 6/12/2020 at 3:58 PM, James DiEugenio said:

If this is indeed an accurate from Garrison as quoted by Lifton, then it is one of the best quotes ever. Let me copy a previous comment of mine which is relevant: