The Education Forum

ADHD

I am a trainee and I have been very pleased at the amount of time my course has spent discussing SEN and strategies for teaching. However, I am still a little in the dark on the issue of teaching pupils with (diagnosed or undiagnosed) Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder.

My parents are both teachers (now in FE) and they say that this disorder was largely unheard of when they started teaching and are rather sceptical about its actual existance. There were badly behaved kids who were dealt with and that was the end of it.

Accepting that it is a medical condition, I am interested in finding out how do you engage these pupils? What are people's views on Ritalin and other drugs, especially in the light of certain documentaries and news items revealing how it is developing as a recreational drug and being bought and sold as any other?

I appreciate that this a somewhat contraversial issue but it is something I am very interested in.

There is great controversy about ADHD and I think that these students are some of the most challenging to deal with in the classroom. In fact attention deficit children were identified as early as 1902 and have been known by such names as Hyperkinetic Impulse Disorder and Minimal Brain Dysfunction. Boys are more likely to be identified as having ADHD and as a consequence girls with the disorder can be more at risk of long term academic, social and emotional difficulties.