The Education Forum

Teachers and Sleep

Depends on the day. I get up at 4:45 a.m. Monday-Friday. Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, my daughter has soccer practice from 9:00-10:30 at night, so we get home about 11:00 and I then cook dinner and get to bed around 11:45. That makes five hours. On Mondays and Wednesdays I get home early, usually around 6:30 and then I get my 8 hours...

However, I have to say that the fact I sleep so little is my fault -- I don't have to get up so early... I just hate to drive through rush hour traffic, so I get to school at around 6:30 or so and try to get all my marking and planning done at school rather than taking it home... Again, the fact that I'm a teacher has nothing to do with my daughter being a football player....

[i plead lack of sleep for my slowness in responding to the excellent and thought-provoking E-HELP postings... I'll get to it...]

However, I have to say that the fact I sleep so little is my fault -- I don't have to get up so early... I just hate to drive through rush hour traffic, so I get to school at around 6:30 or so and try to get all my marking and planning done at school rather than taking it home... Again, the fact that I'm a teacher has nothing to do with my daughter being a football player....

According to the report teachers get less sleep than they need because of stress and overwork. For example, they stay up late marking and preparing. Their brains therefore become overactive.

I'm sure that's true. I often lose sleep worrying about something that went wrong in class during the day. But surely that must be the same in most other professions as well. I'm sure David Beckham doesn't sleep as well after he's had a bad game...

I probably get about 7 hours a night during the week and about 10 hours a night at the weekend..... then again I am a rather delicate flower :zzz

My sleep is not always of a great quality as often my mind is full of school and I tend to work late on the computer.