The Education Forum

Internet Information Should Be Accurate

Judyth Baker

To all:

I have been a teacher myself almost 17 years. I have a B.S. in anthropology, an M.A. in English (with creative writing emphasis, minor in linguistics) and an ABD in English literature. I'm writing my dissertation now.

I am writing to all teachers to report a problem that occurs frequently on the internet. That is, how do you know the information there is accurate? For example, biographical material.

On YOUR OWN TEACHING RESOURCES PAGES, I found a mangled version of my own biography. Nobody had contacted me to verify this information.

My name is Judyth Vary Baker, and I am described as a witness in the Kennedy assassination chronicles.

If you use the resource as it is now written, you'll only propagate the untruths that have been placed there.

Just for starters, I was not born in Bradenton, Florida. I was born in South Bend, Indiana.

That id the first sentence, and the others are just as misleading and erroneous.

Biographies should give pertinent and accurate information. Be careful to double-check your sources.

In my case, just to list a few of the errors:

1) I married an English major, not a petroleum engineer.

2) he divorced me, I did not divorce him. BIG difference!

3) I met CIA asset Canute Miuchaelson only once, in 1958, before Castro came to power. He did NOT lead me into ANY get-Castro project. This is a factoid made up by Mr. John McAdams, who refuses to correct any of his multitude of errors. I will be happy to provide documentation proving this statement.

4) no mention is made of the fact that I received national attention formmy cancer research while still in high school, including guidance from two Nobel Prize winners in biochemistry.

5) no mention is made of additional intensive training for two years in cancer research, beginning at Roswell Park memorial Institute and continuing through to spring of 1963 at the University of Florida.