The Education Forum

BT English

Graham Davies

Dear All

I just received a letter from BT's Customer Service Director, beginning:

"In your recent BT Bill you should of received your regular issue of Update..."

I sent the letter back, underlining the error and indicating that they should swot up on their knowledge of English modal verbs and formation of tenses.

Pompous old git, am I not?

P.S. I am a retired teacher of German. No wonder modern kids can't understand how to form the tenses of German verbs when they can't get them right in their mother tongue.

Dear All

I just received a letter from BT's Customer Service Director, beginning:

"In your recent BT Bill you should of received your regular issue of Update..."

I sent the letter back, underlining the error and indicating that they should swot up on their knowledge of English modal verbs and formation of tenses.

P.S. I am a retired teacher of German. No wonder modern kids can't understand how to form the tenses of German verbs when they can't get them right in their mother tongue.

Also in my country, Italy, we seem to be losing the real knowledge of our language. Punctuation and vocabulary are no longer properly used. Young people know much less vocabulary than they used to know a few years ago, in part also because they are not fond of reading.