The Education Forum

Ties in Schools

My newspaper today included an interesting photograph. It is of the world’s political leaders meeting on Sea Island. The most striking thing about the photograph is that all ten men are not wearing ties. This suggests to me that a decision was made to have the photograph without ties. Obviously they thought it would provide the right image to the rest of the world (youthful, modern, etc.)

This got me thinking about the wearing of ties in school. As a teacher I did not object to wearing a tie on most occasions. I was brought up to believe that if you were doing an important job you wore a tie. After working for seven years in a factory I looked forward to wearing a tie to work. However, my objection was that you were expected (in fact, forced) to wear a tie all the time. This was especially uncomfortable during hot weather.

A few years ago I was working for a national newspaper. The policy was that you had to wear a tie for meetings with senior members of staff and with meetings with outside organizations. However, if you were working in the office they did not mind what you wore.

Next I worked for a dot com company that was owned by another national newspaper. The managing director (he was a former deputy editor of another national newspaper) took the view we should not wear ties at meetings. The thinking was that this would give the impression that we would look like a youthful, modern company, etc.). I found the reaction to this policy very interesting. Start up dot com companies held similar views and rarely wore ties at meetings. However, people from more conventional companies were openly shocked by our behaviour. I remember on one occasion having a meeting with a highly successful businessman who had been granted a title by the government and placed in charge of a government body on information technology. He found it difficult not to make it clear he greatly disapproved of these tieless executives.