The Education Forum

Open Source Software

John Simkin

I have been using Mozilla Firebird for several months. The main reason is that Internet Explorer cannot cope with the security settings of the International Education Forum. It seems far superior to Explorer. It has several powerful features that includes a popup blocker and tabbed browsing that lets you open several web pages within the same window. The most important thing is that it is immune to the worst of the bugs, viruses and spyware that afflict users of Microsoft’s Internet Explorer. Since the new version (Firefox) was launched a couple of weeks ago, 8 million people have downloaded it. It expects to have 10% of the browser market within a year.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/

Firefox is an example of open source software. This is posing a real threat to the Microsoft monopoly. The people from Mozilla are also behind Thunderbird, a free email program that is a good replacement for Outlook Express. This contains an intelligent spam filter. According to a review in the Guardian: “After training Thunderbird for a few days by marking which messages are spam, your inbox becomes almost clear of junk email, while the incidence of false positives – flagging up legitimate email as spam – is very low.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/thunderbird/

Another example of open source software is OpenOffice, the free office suite which was recently proclaimed as “the best all-round office suite” and “the king of the business tools” by PC Pro magazine. One has to ask why the British government continues to spend billions on Microsoft products. The latest example is the multimillion pound deal announced last week with the NHS. Several cities, including Paris and Munich have announced they are switching to open source software.

http://www.openoffice.org/