The Education Forum

Smoke on the grassy knoll

Back in 1965, when I first bought my set of the Warren Commission's 26 Volumes, I encountered witnesses (notably, Sam Holland, standing on the Triple Underpass) who reported  --at the time of the shooting -- smoke or steam coming from under the trees behind the fence on the grassy knoll.  I'm not a gun expert, but back when I was temporarily employed by Ramparts and writing "The Case for Three Assassins" (summer of 1966; published in issue dated December 1966), my co-author David Welsh and I included a small section devoted to witnesses who saw smoke (and I even found an account of a witness in one of the press busses, that that just turned from Main onto Houston Street, and who reported seeing "puffs of smoke" from the area behind the fence on the knoll).

Since it has repeatedly emphasized --in discussion and debates --that "guns don't smoke" (at least modern guns do not), I'd be interested in what various members of this forum think of this phenomenon.  

What was the cause of the smoke?  I'd like to collect as many responses as possible; and you may be very brief, if you wish.

(There is no "prize for the winner." I'm just interested in gathering data).

Thanks.

DSL

Current Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

Email:

dlifton@earthlink.net

dlifton@gmail.com

Edited by David Lifton
spellib

The first time I heard this I looked on YouTube for examples of modern guns smoking since I've only fired weapons in the Army a long time ago. So, the first few seconds should suffice as examples or go to 1:42.  Unless the ammunition was. specially set up to smoke .   

Lots of smoke from rifles:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yIhrUNdPFls

Edited by Bill Fite
clarification of what is in video

51A5666D-8B64-461A-A151-75A3DA2386BE.jpeg.3f194c7793dd6a7efa4b77ee932150eb.jpeg