The Education Forum

THE BAD BOYS OF OAK CLIFF -- PART I

Gil Jesus

THE BAD BOYS OF OAK CLIFF
By Gil Jesus ( 2021 )

Most major American cities have areas that are considered the "bad section of town". In such areas, the crime rate is higher and police endeavor to make their presence known in order to deter crime.
Having spent some time as a police officer myself, I understand how it all works. I find nothing suspicious or sinister about the Dallas Police dispatching J.D. Tippit to Oak Cliff. They just wanted coverage in a high crime area while the officer assigned to that area was at lunch.
One of the problems with such high crime areas is that the residents tend to not want to get involved as witnesses. Many of them fear retribution from perpetrators or their allies.
The Oak Cliff section of Dallas was not without its share of young criminals and troublemakers. Several of these come to the forefront as we examine the murder of Dallas Police Officer J.D. Tippit.
How bad of an area of the city was Oak Cliff ?  The two teenagers who were used as "fillers" in the 4th police lineup with Oswald were residents of Oak Cliff. ( 7 H 201 )

Two other such Oak Cliff criminals just happened to be "witnesses" to the Tippit murder: 
William Arthur Smith and Jimmy Earl Burt. 
Although they were supposed to have been together, their stories differ greatly. And the evidence does not support either of their versions of what happened.
They were also two young men with troubled pasts, Smith was on probation for auto theft and Burt was AWOL from the Army.
Smith lived on the next street from murder witness Helen Markham and was a friend of her son James, who was out on parole from prison for a burglary at the time of the murder.
If any of these guys were caught by police with a firearm in their possession, it would have been a violation of their parole or probation and meant jail time. For Burt, it would have meant at least a year in the brig.