The Education Forum

Timing the shots....2.3 seconds?

quote SA George Hickey who was riding in the follow up vehicle immediately behind the limo during the shooting sequence:

"completely different from the first report and were in such rapid succession that there seemed to be practically no time element between them."

The following is a recent post which I made at Lancer Forum.

This may be surprising to some.

To those of the forum who may not be well versed or experienced with firearms and their operation, it is difficult to describe how tedious and time consuming it is to reacquire a moving target through a scope. It is extremely difficult to even reacquire a stationary target.

I have a lot of experience yet am not ashamed to say that I cannot operate the bolt of a premium rifle in first class condition, and reacquire a moving target (head size) in even close to 2.3 seconds. This is merely getting it in the scope, not setting and firing!

For those of you who are interested enough to experience this phenomenon, take a pair of binoculars and focus on any airplane in flight (any altitude)

Now remove the binoculars from your eyes and replace them as quickly as possible. Now try to reacquire the airplane. Do it again and have someone time you.

Oswald was not known to be well coordinated, athletic, or a good shot. I feel that I am all three and can't come close to 2.3 seconds.

I find it extremely disturbing.

Actually I find it unbelievable that a Secret Service Agent, who stood in the car only a few feet behind the Presidential Limo, with a military automatic rifle

in his hands, and stated that the shots were"...in such rapid succession that there seemed practically no time element between them" is not believed.

Why is his statement even questioned? I would say that he is about as acute and well trained as anyone could wish an eye and ear witness to be. What witness could be found with better credentials.