The Education Forum

A problem concerning guns

Apologies if this has already been covered (I looked through the Tippit threads and it wasn't mentioned).

Aside from the anomolies concerning the bullets removed from Tippits body not completely matching the make and manufacture of the shells handed in to the DPD, and the fact there was no unbroken 'chain of evidence', as required by the law, concerning these shells, the biggest obstacle to be overcome in concluding that Oswald killed Tippit is this: Why would a murderer who has just pumped four bullets into a policeman then pause to remove spent shells from his revolver---on the spot?

Wouldn't he run away and remove the shells later, where he might be safer? Isn't it much more likely a semi-automatic weapon was used to kill Tippit, not a revolver. Of course, this would make Oswald innocent, as he was arrested in possession of a revolver.

Any help here is greatly appreciated as I'm no expert on guns.

Apologies if this has already been covered (I looked through the Tippit threads and it wasn't mentioned).

Aside from the anomolies concerning the bullets removed from Tippits body not completely matching the make and manufacture of the shells handed in to the DPD, and the fact there was no unbroken 'chain of evidence', as required by the law, concerning these shells, the biggest obstacle to be overcome in concluding that Oswald killed Tippit is this: Why would a murderer who has just pumped four bullets into a policeman then pause to remove spent shells from his revolver---on the spot?

Wouldn't he run away and remove the shells later, where he might be safer? Isn't it much more likely a semi-automatic weapon was used to kill Tippit, not a revolver. Of course, this would make Oswald innocent, as he was arrested in possession of a revolver.

It is a muddled mess. The shells found were AUTOMATIC.

The shells in evidence were REVOLVER.

But automatic shell casings would have all been EJECTED IN