The Education Forum

NASA, how many conspiritors would it have taken?

Guest Stephen Turner

Guest Stephen Turner

Being a complete novice on photographic evaluation, and most of the technical aspects of the Moon landings, one pertinent question, of a different nature does occur to me. Namely, just how many people would have had to be involved in any attempted hoax. And how does this alter the likelyhood of said hoax working?

1, All Astronauts involved in the missions, and their understudies/stand-ins

2, A film crew, director, editors, set dressers, designers, props, camera crew, writers, boom operators, lighting/electrical, catering, etc, etc.

3, NASA ground crew, from mission controller downwards.

4, Many in the Nixon administration.

5, And in all likelyhood, as they monitored all NASA missions, the Soviet space agency, and their government.

If I have missed any group perhaps Evan or Steve could enlighten me. That looks like SOME conspiracy, and SOME continuing cover-up

Stephen-

Some additional groups:

4a. Don’t forget the Johnson administration as well. Most of the planning, design, and construction occurred under Johnson, not Nixon. Nixon got the glory of Apollo 11, but inherited it from LBJ.

5a. Absolutely the Soviets. They monitored everything we did and would know if we faked it. And they would have gained great prestige in the world community if they blew the whistle.

6. Thousands of amateur astronomers who viewed the vehicles in trans-lunar flight and HAM operators who listened to the conversations during trans-lunar flight.

7. The hundreds or thousands of geologists who have worked on the lunar samples and confirm that their origin is extraterrestrial, more specifically from the moon.

8. The engineers and some assembly personnel at the various manufacturing plants – they would have known if what they were building was the real thing, or something simply for show.