The Education Forum

Conspiracy Against Capitalism

John Simkin

Ever since I created my website in 1997 I have believed that the web has the power to change the nature of capitalism. For example, in 1997 I had been running a small educational publishing company for ten years. I had made use of new technology to keep my costs to a minimum. In this way I was able to sell my books cheaper than those of the multinationals. Between 1984 and the early 1990s the company was highly profitable.

Then Rupert Murdoch entered the educational publishing industry by buying Harper Collins. He decided to employ a strategy that would wipe out the competition. At this time, virtually all school textbooks were printed in black and white. This enabled publishers to test the market by having initial print runs of 2,000. If the book was successful you might say, print 5,000. Even if the book did not sell well and was never reprinted, you could still make a profit from it.

Murdoch decided to raise the stakes by printing these textbooks in colour. Other publishers had rejected this idea because they could not see how they could persuade the schools and colleges to pay the extra costs of buying books in colour. Murdoch solved this problem of selling the books for the same price as those in black and white. He did this in three ways: (1) Used printing companies in the Third World; (2) Had print-runs of over 30,000; (3) Worked on very low-profit margins.

Consumers obviously prefer colour to black and white and within a few months Harper Collins had began to dominate the market. Other educational publishers had no option but to follow Murdoch’s example. This of course changed the scale of investment in a new book. The multinational players could afford to do this, but the small independents went out of business.