The Education Forum

any lawyers out there?

I am not a trademark lawyer, so what I say means little.

However, in the US I believe there is no legal restriction on whether

a company is local, regional, state, national or international to use

that in their name.

I could name a business WHITE INTERNATIONAL PHOTO SERVICES, if

I wanted to. Sounds important, huh?

We have National Broadcasting Company...NBC.

We have National Biscuit Company...but to be different they are NABISCO

to avoid confusion, and NBC is taken.

I could start a business called National Baloney Company...but I couldn't

call it NBC. And I couldn't start a broadcasting company called NBC, even

if it stood for Nellie's Broadcasting Corporation.

There are rules, but most follow common sense...to have an exclusive name.

Jack

Greg,

I can't help you regarding your legal question but the National Research Corporation is a very interesting entity.

Post WW2, the vice president there was a young man by the name of Carroll Louis Wilson. In early 1947, he was appointed as general manager of the Atomic Energy Commission and went to work immediately to push for a transition from military to civilian control.

During WW2, Wilson was the right hand man to Dr. Vannevar Bush in the Office of Scientific Research and Development.

James

Jack and James, Thanks for your responses.

Jack, you said:

However, in the US I believe there is no legal restriction on whether

a company is local, regional, state, national or international to use

that in their name.

I could name a business WHITE INTERNATIONAL PHOTO SERVICES, if

I wanted to. Sounds important, huh?

A quick google got this from British Law:

A company name can be illegal if it:

* Suggests the company is bigger than it is, e.g. naming a company 'ABC International' when it does no business overseas.

* Contravenes registered trademarks or is already being used.