The Education Forum

IB Essay: JFK's Foreign Policy & the Assassination

I am an IB student, in yr 12 and for my examination I am to write an essay of 4000 words on a topic of my choice - I have chosen JFK's assassination.  The essay has to make use of sources for historical analysis and interpretation (preferably reasonably recently released historical documents or perhaps interviewing an eyewitness or expert?) and the topic should focus on a fairly narrow area of the assassination so that I can focus, and keep to the word limit.  My problem is, I dont know what aspect of JFK's assassination I should focus on, so I was hoping that someone could give me some ideas??  I would greatly appreciate any help anyone could give me.

I'd firstly like to thank you all for the help you have given me so far.  Although I have not firmly decided on a topic, I am considering the question: “What evidence is there that JFK secretly changed his foreign policy after the Cuban Missile Crisis?”

I would greatly appreciate it if any of you had any information that you think would be relevant, if you could possibly suggest books, or links or other, I'd greatly appreciate it.

I'd also be interested if any of you had any information about how this linked to his death.

Simone, I am sure our members will help you with this essay. I personally believe that there is a strong link between JFK change of foreign policy following the Cuban Missile Crisis.