The Education Forum

Jim DiEugenio interviewed about James Woolsey's book

I think this is one of the best interviews I have ever participated in.

Its about the Woolsey book but a lot more than that.  Its something I have been exploring now for about eight years.  How Kennedy's foreign policy was consciously, step by step, eviscerated after his death. The last step being when Cheney and Rumsfeld got Ford to clip Kissinger's wings over detente with Russia.  That was the last gasp.  And this gave birth to the Neocons.  That was it for Kennedy's vision. Today the neocons dominate both parties, thanks Henry Jackson. And Kennedy's foreign policy is something we talk about on forums and at seminars.

How America became a neocon nation.

https://parallaxviews.podbean.com/e/opdragon/

Edited by James DiEugenio

Please listen.  It addresses the historical Big Picture. Which I think is really important.

A great interview. 

Yes, the neocons have prevailed, and maybe even worse than that. 

The multinationals of Smedley Butler's day, or even JFK's day, were large, but usually just resource companies, that is in agriculture, oil, mining, etc. They wanted the US military and foreign policy to represent their interests, with gunboats and subterfuge if necessary. 

Today we have the Apples, the Disneys, the GMs, the Teslas, BlackRocks, the WalMart, the Googles et al that operate globally, and are much larger than the multinationals of yore. Apple's market cap is $2.3 trillion (yes, with a "t"). They are all happy to do business with communist China, btw. By comparison, Freeport McMoran, the former Freeport Sulphur, has a market cap of $43 billion. 

The gigantic globalist community finances a daily tsunami of academics, think tanks, centers, foundations, media outlets, lobby groups and political campaigns. The US military, now a hypermobilized, mercenary force, is the global guard service for the new colossus class of multinationals.