The Education Forum

Disinfo Blotter: The Guardian podcast "Why are conspiracy theories so attractive?"

Guest Joe Bundy

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Joe Bundy,

I agree with the "dumbing down" you mention. The problem goes deep.

For example, some posters here, American or otherwise, have weighed in as to whether a 1963 postal money order needed to be endorsed in order to be negotiated. I'm talking law here and not pulling punches.

The answer is a simple yes or no but is not that easy to ascertain. The difficulty is not intellectual; it's factual; it's uncovering the facts.

Some say yes, some say no, some say whatever.

If I'm a disinformation artist, I want to dismiss the question. I want to challenge any less-than-adequate answer offered. To pooh-pooh any less-than-adequate answer offered. To assert the questioner is a "conspiracy theorist". Hate to say it; that's DVP and Hank. They serve a valuable purpose. They xxxxx pet theories and ask for proof.

"Dumbing down", in my opinion, is not just a problem of the mainstream press. The mainstream press starts with a specific argument; looks at the argument; finds flaws in the argument; and declares the argument "conspiracy theory".

The best response is to make a fact-based argument. Facts, verifiable facts, are unfortunately absent in the JFK assassination.

The best response is to make a fact-based argument. Facts, verifiable facts, are unfortunately absent in the JFK assassination.

Careful, you might trigger the deliberately-dumb down agents of the gatekeeping idiocracy to bring up Occam's Razor with this point, even though there are many reasons Occam's Razor does not apply to the JFK assassination, the 9/11 "Continuity of Government" coup, and even concerns of quite minor impact on just the individual.

the best move WCR supporters even made was inventing the conspiracy theorist... they've been celebrating 50+ years